Board of Directors


Charles Temple, Ph.D.Charles Temple, Ph.D., is Professor and Chair of the Education Department at Hobart & William Smith Colleges, in Geneva, New York USA. He was a co-founder and co-director of the award-winning Reading and Writing for Critical Thinking Project and author of many of its training materials. He has authored ten textbooks on education, and co-authored several textbook programs for young people. He has extensive training experience in Central Europe, East Africa, and Latin America. In 2005-2006 he was a Fulbright Scholar in Romania. His specialties are teacher education, literacy, educational materials production, educational assessment, higher education reform, and writing books for children.
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.">contact - Curriculum Vitae

Alan Crawford, Ph.D. EmeritusAlan Crawford, Ed.D., is Professor Emeritus at California State University Los Angeles, Los Angeles, California, where he was recognized as Outstanding Professor. He is an authority on reading and language instruction for multilingual students, with many publications in this field. His academic life has included service as Senior Literacy Specialist at UNESCO (Paris), Fulbright Senior Scholar in Ecuador, Professional-in-Residence at the U. S. Embassy, Baku, Azerbaijan, and IREX grants for Mongolia and Azerbaijan. He was Project Coordinator of the Reading and Writing for Critical Thinking Project (RWCT), working in many countries in the Baltics, Central Asia, the Balkans, Eastern Europe, and Latin America. He currently serves on the editorial board of Lectura y Vida, the Spanish-language journal of the International Reading Association. He also served on the editorial board of The Thinking Classroom/Peremena. He received two Outstanding Policy Study awards from the American Association of Educational Research (AERA).
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.">contact - Curriculum Vitae

E. Wendy Saul, Ph.D.E. Wendy Saul, Ph.D., Professor of Education, holds the Alan B. and Helen S. Shopmaker Chair in Education and International Studies at the University of Missouri - St. Louis, St. Louis, Missouri. She is the author/editor of numerous books and articles on critical literacy and the teaching of non-fiction text. She has also served as principle investigator for National Science Foundation grants totaling well over $5 million. Wendy Saul was the founding editor of Thinking Classroom and its Russian counterpart, Peremena and served for 6 years as it editor-in-chief. She also coordinated the Reading and Writing for Critical Thinking Project, working extensively in Eastern and Central Europe. Saul is an elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and recipient of the Regents Prize for Public Service from the University of Maryland.
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.">contact - Curriculum Vitae

Samuel R. Mathews, II, Ph.D.Samuel R. Mathews, II, Ph.D. is Associate Professor of Psychology, University of West Florida, Pensacola, Florida. He has developed and implemented literacy interventions for adolescents who have been involved with juvenile delinquency, teen pregnancy, substance abuse, and academic failure. These projects have ranged from school-based initiatives to efforts located in inner city housing projects. His international experience includes serving as a volunteer with RWCT in Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan, conducting certification workshops in Russia, and working as a Visiting Professor, Tallinn University, Tallinn, Estonia (fall, 2004). He also coordinated, with Alan Crawford, the development of international certification standards for RWCT. His areas of expertise include instructional strategies for high risk adolescents, research design, project evaluation, and developmental psychology. He has served as review editor for the Journal of Educational Psychology, Journal of Educational Research, and The Thinking Classroom/Peremena.
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.">contact - Curriculum Vitae



  • Jan Bernath - Michigan Regional Literacy Training Centers, International Studies in Education Specialist, Mason, Michigan
  • Patricia Bloem, Ph.D. - Associate Professor, Department of English, Grand Valley State University, Allendale, Michigan
  • Scott Brophy, Ph.D. - Chair, Department of Philosophy, Hobart & William Smith Colleges, Geneva, New York

  • Penny A. Freppon, Ed.D. - Professor Emerita, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, Ohio
  • George Hunt - Lecturer, School of Education, Univ. of Edinburgh, Edinburgh, Scotland
  • David Klooster, Ph.D. - Professor and Chair of the English Department, Hope College Holland, Michigan:
  • David Landis, Ph.D. - Associate Professor, School of Education, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, Iowa
  • Cynthia McDermott, Ed.D. - Chair, Teacher Education, Antioch University Los Angeles, Los Angeles, California
  • Mary Melvin - Emeritus, School of Education, Miami University of Ohio, Oxford, Ohio, Co-chair International Partnership for Critical Thinking/Active Learning
  • Howard Mould - Professor (retired), Deakin University, Melbourne Australia
  • Kathryn Obenchain, Ph.D. - Associate Professor, Department of Educational Specialties, University of Nevada—Reno, Reno, Nevada
  • Donna Ogle, Ed.D. - Professor of Reading, National College of Education, National Louis University, Chicago, Illinois
  • Alison Preece, Ph.D. - Associate Professor, Language & Literacy, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, University of Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
  • Jeanne Reardon - Author, Retired Classroom Teacher
  • Victoria Ridgeway, Ph.D. - Professor, Director, Center of Excellence for Adolescent Literacy and Learning, School of Education, Clemson University, Clemson, South Carolina
  • Scott Walter - Director, Canadian Overseas Development Through Education, Canada
  • Jeff Zwiers - Teacher Trainer/Author